Categories
thoughts

Who am I?

This blog has been born out of a union of boredom and gnawing urge to document certain thoughts I have and places I visit.

Since I was a young boy, I was fascinated by culture: how people live, why they choose to do things they do, a curiosity for how things were in the past, and if someone wrote them down for me to read. I’ve also been fascinated by the wonders of the human body – how extremely intricate microscopic cogs come together to form this spectacular machine that we mostly stop to think about only when we fall sick. This fascination led to me become a doctor.

So this blog is going to be a collection of information and my thoughts on certain subjects, such as medicine, culture, history, architecture, urbanism, food, travel, music and the like.

I like walking through old neighbourhoods clicking pictures of buildings, statues, parks, cafes and the like, and this blog might be full of those things.

Taking notes from Julie Andrews crooning in 1965 while playing a governess to the von Trapp children, these are a few of my favourite things:

Movie: The Bridge on the River Kwai
Song: Mr Tambourine Man (Bob Dylan)
City: Edinburgh
Sport: Cricket
Food: Difficult to choose one item, so I’d go with dhansak, sushi, pizza, and my grandmother’s bhindi (okra)

By Anmol Dhawan

A doctor who is serially taking exams, and likes to travel and document history and culture in inter-exam period.

One reply on “Who am I?”

Lovely reading with admirable research of the Sassoon family. AFMC is my alma mater too. The “bund” mentioned drew crowds both in Poona (now Pune) & in Shanghai . Experienced the cruise in Shanghai and the romantic scenery in Poona. The racecourse at Poona was and remains an adorable temptation. The Eves Cup brought back memories of punting from 1965 in student days to days of Professorship in the same institute. I was under the impression that AFMC started with a different name in 1947 in a location beyond the Poona University in the area Ganeshkhind-Aundh In Poona before moving to the Eves house location. Amol has done a lovely job expected of a AFMCite. Will wait for more. A ‘D’ Batcher’s compliments.

Like

Leave a comment